Senate Receives List of Ambassadorial Nominees

June 10, 2016

Ambassadors are direct representatives of a nation's president in another country. In Nigeria, the power to appoint or to remove ambassadors is vested in the President. However, any such appointment shall not have effect unless it is confirmed by the Senate.

In 2011, an ambassadorial nominee was asked to recite the national anthem and the national pledge. She failed. She also did not know the capital of Jigawa State. Nevertheless the woman was endorsed and confirmed by the Senate. Consequently, she was part of the 93 envoys posted out in 2012.

Consequent to the start of the new administration in 2015, a number of ambassadors on tour of duty abroad were recalled. 12 months after, the Senate receives a list of 47 ambassadorial nominees from President Buhari.

More than ever before, the Senate needs to do a thorough, but quick job on screening this set of ambassadorial nominees. Only competent officials should represent our nation in other countries. We need to get it right this time, and not 4 years later. You should ask your Senator how he/she intends to ensure effective screening of the following ambassadorial nominees:

  • Obinna Chukwuemeka
  • Salisu Umoru
  • Iyang Udoh
  • Okeke Vivian
  • Liman Munir
  • Edem Jane
  • Mohammed Hassan
  • Martin Cobham
  • Janet Molegbo
  • Itegbuoye Sunday
  • Olatunde Adesesan
  • Lilian Onu
  • Manaja Isa
  • Ngozi Ukeje
  • Bello Husseini
  • Enoch Ducci
  • Garba Baba
  • Usman Aliyu
  • Umar Salisu
  • Momoh Omeiza
  • Kadiri Audu
  • Balogun Hakeem
  • Nosa Ahmed
  • Ibrahim Isa
  • Bankole Adeoye
  • Ibidapo Obe
  • Ogundaro Sakirat
  • Eric Belgam
  • Ateru Haliru
  • Ramota Bulima
  • Musa Mamman
  • Kabiru Bala
  • Adamu Shuaibu
  • D. A. Agiv
  • T.K. Gonglong
  • Ibrahim Hamza
  • K.C. Nwachukwu
  • Q.R. Wolu
  • E.K. Oguntuwase
  • A.I. Paragauda
  • L.A. Gasharga
  • Olufemi Abikoye
  • Abubakar Ibrahim
  • Rabiu Kawu
  • Janet Bisong
  • Adekunbi Habeebat